National Channel

The National Channel of All India Radio in radio’s 3 tier system was originally conceived as the first stage i.e. National System with a broadcast of an 18 hrs. per day. But for various reasons the channel was limited to night time service taking the National Programmes and covering 65% of area and 76% of population of the country. Presently it broadcasts programmes of entertainment and music with hourly News Bulletins for the entire country from 06.50 PM in the evening to 06.12 AM in the morning. This is the only channel available after most of the stations closed down.


The programmes of National Channel are radiated by One Megawatt Transmitter from centrally located place i.e. Nagpur(Mtrs. 191.6 M – 1566 kHz.), 500 kW, from Kolkata from 11.00 PM ( Mtrs. 264.5 M – 1134 kHz.) and 20 kW Transmitter at Delhi ( Mtrs.246.9 M – 1215 kHz.) and two SW transmitters at 9425 kHz & 9470 kHz at bangalore and Aligarh respectively. The languages of broadcast are Hindi, English and Urdu apart from some music from other Indian languages. National channel’s office cum studios is situated at Todapur (West Delhi).


100% Andhra Pradesh, Bihar, Chhatisgah, Delhi, Goa, Haryana, Jharkhand, Karnataka, Madhya Pradesh, Manipur, Meghalaya, Orissa, Pondicherry, Tripura, Uttar Pradesh, Uttaranchal.
50% & More Assam, Maharashtra, Rajasthan, Tamil Nadu.